STARFISH

 

This starfish left a handprint in
the sand. I see your

tan hands that summer we went
to the Cape and you filled

our nights with tales of scallops
and fresh mussels. Noisy clams

played rhythm on their castanets
and lobsters danced flamenco on the

foam before they found their way to our
hotel bedroom made from jetsam

of the sea. There we
rocked the cradle through

the long dark shipnight
deep in the depths of its hold

where the constant pounding
waves were heard within our ark.

There I became the shell
with you curled inside me.

© Gay Reiser Cannon * 2011 * All Rights Reserved

Posted today for OpenLinkNight @dVersePoets. If you haven’t been before click the link and join the fun. Link your own and read others. You’ll be glad you did!

Posted today for OpenLinkNight @dVersePoets. If you haven’t been before click the link and join the fun. Link your own and read others. You’ll be glad you did!

35 thoughts on “STARFISH

  1. what a beautiful close…there i became a shell with you curled inside me….smiles…you left me all warm and fuzzy…a beautiful trip to get there but that stole the show for me…

  2. Beautiful imagery, evocative in every way. I loved this especially:

    Noisy clams

    played rhythm on their castanets
    and lobsters danced flamenco on the

    foam

  3. Hand in hand with a starfish’s impress in the sand, you remember love the way we remember the sea — a birthing-place, a waking-place, a heart so washed by tides of happiness and tears. Fine fine poem, Gay. – Brendan

  4. One of your best ever, in my opinion Gay. You always amaze me with your great diversity of voice. This simplest one is also one of the most affecting–each word has a weight, each image seems to come to life like a slideshow of the past. Beautiful, and perfectly composed.And many thanks for your very kind words today at my place.

  5. That wonderful ending, Gay! I am the shell, with you curled inside of me….how lovely and loving. The entire work is beautiful…and I can smell the salt air…and feel the loving. Thank you for sharing!

  6. This is a sweet one, Gay. The ending was especially splendid – a very soothing and delightful final course. Yet the entire image sings, peppered with a sensual dose of love that lends itself only all too wonderfully to the beach-borne imagery.

  7. This goes straight to the heart, Gay. Beautiful, lyrical, intimate, all those words fit and more, but this poem rises above anything I can say.

    Just pure, evocative beauty and memory. Truly haunting. You just get better and better.

    Lady Nyo

  8. This is a wonderful, wonderous poem. Takes me back to my childhood when looking at some of the lyrics of Donovan’s “Gift from a Flower to a Garden” album — songs like the “Tinker and the Crab”. This is much, much better. Beautiful imagery and mood. And magical!

  9. Ahh!!! What a lovely poem. I enjoyed your words, made me feel the ocean scent…

    ‘foam before they found their way to our
    hotel room where the bed was made from jetsam’

    and then you hit me with your last lines.. so imaginative.. and I could see it all there… happening within…

    Thanks for sharing…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-fire-faayar-faayaar-dedicated.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

Leave a Reply

