Wind-Up Doll

Composite – GRCannon

I eat the moon and glow
phosphorescent in blacklight;
My super sapphire eyes
swirl bright as the milky way.

I twirl the trees in greeniness
their leaves fly off as they spin;
emerald tops move down
the street whirling where I live.

I dance the sunshine onto windows
the beams erase dullness beneath;
the builidings of the city fall on them
laughing before becoming dominoes

I change with sudden fancy
into a bowler hat or crystal studded bag;
my face peeks out of a crowded hanging basket
my smile is written on its tag

My lips have changed to chocolate,
they delight me all day long.
Never melt nor can I eat them
they sing cocoa serenades

I speak in illustrated letters
Vines and flowers trailing
wrap around the people watching
arresting, entreating, yes seducing.

My arms change into wings
feathered in pastel rainbow hues;
I fly above those lakes that glitter
their fairydust will coat my toes.

© Gay Reiser Cannon * 2011 * All Rights Reserved

Posted today for dVersePoets – OpenLinKnight – Hosted by the incomparable Hedgewitch who’s serving up magic behind the bar. Have a cup of tango, a glass of ballet, a yardarm of fandango, a schooner of sonnet – they’re all waiting for you!

38 thoughts on “Wind-Up Doll

  1. There’s a tic-tock sweetness to this tutu bouree. Reminds me a bit of the creation in Hawthorne’s “Artist of the Beautiful”: delightful perhaps because its so fully imagined.–Brendan

  2. i eat the moon..and dance the sunshine onto windows..the lips changing to chocolate and arms to wings..this is so dreamy and so full of tender life…love it gay..awesome write..

  3. This poem just dances on its little word toes all over the place–my dolls were extremely boring compared to this one. beautifully imagined and delightfully executed. Love the ‘greeniness.’

  4. Lovely work Gay. Your opening lines are beautiful :

    I eat the moon and glow
    phosphorescent in blacklight;
    My super sapphire eyes
    swirl bright as the milky way.

  5. I eat the moon and glow
    phosphorescent in blacklight;
    My super sapphire eyes
    swirl bright as the milky way…..
    I love this…great imagery here.
    Beautiful!

  6. Maybe you eat the moon to glow so, but you take great gulps of the joys of life, both real and fantasy, in this piece, Gay. but, who’s to say what’s real real and what’s fantasy. I’ve read some pretty fantastic things in this piece that feel real as sin. Thank you for making such dreams concrete.

  7. And here is the true magic of poetry…eating the moon, chocolate lips…you weave a fantastic carpet of words. A joy to read!

  8. I always think, Gay, that the title is key to the poem– and so unlike the others it seems to me there’s an edge of sarcasm here– a portrait of someone doll-like and therefore superficial– just too-too– it makes me think of Daisy Buchanan in Gatsby, for some reason… and my brother’s fascination for years with Marilyn Monroe–

    But we all bring our ideas to a given poem, yes? I especially loved:

    My lips have changed to chocolate,
    they delight me all day long.
    Never melt nor can I eat them
    they sing cocoa serenades

    xxxj http://parolavivace.blogspot.com

  9. So many magical lines here, a delight in transformation and exploration. That first stanza was just as delicious as the line about lips into chocolate. YUM!

  10. Hi all y’all. I’ve been doing paywork and just now getting to my own blog and soon to read as many links as I can. Hope to get by to read all of yours and more! Thank you for coming by today. It’s so much appreciated. Writing seems so empty if no one reads it, and your comments and your poems help me decide what I want to do next, inform me, inspire me, shape the way my own poems progress.

    Funnily enough I have been responding to Arron Shilling’s poems lately. So perhaps I am exploring irony (so hard to nail that down) but I think more this was surreal in the sense of Magritte (that’s why I worked in the bowler hat). I don’t think this is surreal in the sense of autowriting though or not any more so than any of my poems. I consider my work imagist in the definition of hd and pound and perhaps more like Amy Lowell.

  11. Hi Gay,

    I really like the picture at the top

    its really great to know your investigating the Parisian poetry scene – 1900-1930

    for me, this is the most cruicial of times.

    Have you read Hemmingway’s Immovable feast?
    it’s a short piece but a fine portrait of these times.

    i would also recommend Ezra Pound Poet V1 by Moody

    As you say this piece has hints of imagist and surrealist ideas –

    I feel a sense of freedom emerging thru the poem –
    if not automatic writing – some loosened imagination flow and unconscious connections appear.

    i guess its all about experimentation and editing in varying degrees.

    thanks Gay.

  12. I think I read A Movable Feast in the mid 60s, probably not too long after it was published. I had read his important books in my teens and didn’t read The Old Man and the Sea until much later.

    I was early on captured by HD and her whittling away at verbiage

    I know Pound and more importantly his influence; have never read the Cantos – I think it may be time now for them and to read the late Eliot along with the late Beethoven chamber music, the trios and quartets.

    • Hey Gay –

      HD is great – my favourite pound is probably BLAST and the experimental work – the Cantos are V intresting.

      although i mostly prefer early Elliot the Four Quartets is magnificant – i frequently re read.

      the old man and the sea is a masterwork.

      My lips have changed to chocolate,
      they delight me all day long

      I change with sudden fancy
      into a bowler hat or crystal studded bag;

      I dance the sunshine onto windows
      the beams erase dullness beneath;

      these extracts are among my favourites – very original and exciting
      with your tuned accuracy thry certainly resonate.

      I noticed you mention Magritte in your comments and i sense the conection and allusion toward the uncanny.

      i’m glad i had a chance to return and read without the darn phone interupting my concerntration – i have a show coming up and its panic stations here.

      thanks Gay

  13. Wow, Gay. This poem is so rich in unique images starting with the first two lines…I’m overwhelmed with envy :0) that I didn’t think of them. I love twirling the trees in greeniness and…I could go on and on. Made me happy.

  14. hii,,this is my first read here,,& i’m loving it..
    eating the moon & glowing,,chocolate lips singing cocoa serenades…
    loved d imagery throught..

    i loved reading through your site..!!
    i am following it. 🙂

    by the way, i am Shiny, a new blogger and i love penning down my feelings and thoughts, if u can just comment on my posts,,so as to make the future posts better..
    http://crowdedsolitude.wordpress.com/
    ..and i just love reading any poetry & literature..

Leave a Reply

