Piazzola

Tango © telegraph.co.uk

Fire hate and love death
hate fire and love desire
tango holds me in its ache
and life the blood on my tongue

the melt of your moustache
into your face where those hard
drops of you land
turning a grimace
or smiling
through the dread of stare

our steps shake mortality
to broken stones while pillars
all around us burn

our own shadows
pull us into them syncopating
strings into arms
and feet
shaking prisoner passions
into buckles and clasps
lying on   the floor
the filigree of love overlays
the face of destiny and time

twisting keys with grains
of black film in sets of thirty nine
crashing steps as my rose
grows wings,
flies..then
stops!

© Gay Reiser Cannon * 2012 * All Rights Reserved

Astor Piazzola – Tango Oblivion

16 thoughts on “Piazzola

  1. fascinating verse gay…the tango is an intimate and active dance full of tension and heat…and of course it could lead to that pile of clothes there in the middle…ha…

    the filigree of love overlays
    the face of destiny and time

    twisting color with grains
    of black film in sets of thirty nine
    crashing steps as my rose
    grows wings,
    flies..then
    stops!

    love that hard stop there at the end…

  2. Thank you Brian. I wrote the poem and when I looked for a video of his music, I was surprised how I had incorporated the same elements in my poem as the video used in this great Piazzola tango (played by Yo Yo Ma). C’est la vie! — Enjoy the music!

  3. great, great capture of the passion of tango gay…love it…think it’s the most erotic dance in the world, it’s strong and fast and with no compromises….thanks for the dance

  4. Wonderful poem, Gay– I wonder if you’ve seen Sam’s recent poem Tango Desolado– I love to watch some of the best dancers on Dancing with the Stars execute the tango…not to mention Pacino in Scent of a Woman…. first tango, last…. this poem has much heart and beauty of image– I loved these lines:

    our steps shake mortality
    to broken stones while pillars
    all around us burn

    mine is up per usual at http://parolavivace.blgospot.com – xxxj

  5. The entire poem has the rhythm of the tango…and that last line, perfect for that sudden tango stop. Lovely write.. I hear the music!

  6. wellllll….you left me no choice by to say that I loved your reference to the 39 Steps since it’s one of my favorite movies, and I often talk about it to people who have never heard of it! nice to know you’ve heard of it.

  7. I so enjoyed this, Gay. I’d probably have to run to the chiropractor if I tried the tango these days, but love to watch it and you have such a good rythmn going on here. Your skill with disciplined, form poetry makes me a bit envious. It always flows so smoothly.

Leave a Reply

