In The Still of the Night

clouds and crescent moonIt all began with a midnight drive.
Apart at first then pulled to your side.
Frail Clouds sailed past the moon that night,
A crescent omen that said you’d lied.

I felt a twinge, bet I could wage
You were a soul that could not be saved.
An angelic bad-boy’s bargain made,
I guessed you owned another face.

You knew my mother was a nurse,
that I spent my free time at church,
that I sometimes longed for something worse,
yet I kept a crucifix in my purse,

That long road home was driven fast,
A touchstone reached, and crossroads passed.

©Gay Reiser Cannon * 2/13/14 * All Rights Reserved

29 thoughts on “In The Still of the Night

  1. whew…def an interesting start of love…ha…maybe that crucifix helped…smiles….longing for something worse….smiles…that middle stanza description of him works really well…nicely played gay

  2. a midnight drive sounds like a good way to start a romance… stepping out of the secure environment a bit…still that crucifix as an anchor in the purse… i’m smiling…well played gay

  3. Mixing hormones & romance & religious morality will always take you to Sinner’s Town; yes, our poems are like bookends it seems; very nice use of the end words; enjoyed it.

  4. You’re right: this task was a double whammy: borrowed words plus borrowed end rhymes. which made it really difficult to put a personal stamp on it, which you managed beautifully.

  5. Com’on, Gay! You’ve got me, so what happens next? She passed the crossroads but has a cross in her purse. Dilemma! I remember that longing to be bad and see what it was like–and the pain of not giving in, not being able to.

    • Well as this was a bit of a “mashup” story – it depends – in the first the couple went separate ways soon after, and in the second became friends now for 52 years – but not romantic ones –just friends.

  6. You could feel the feelings in this so strongly…of being torn between wanting something “worse” but keeping that crucifix near to ward it off! Either a terrifying or exhilarating place to be…or maybe a bit of both…well done, Gay.

  7. The first two lines gave nothing away…how quickly this piece seemed to turn. an angelic bad-boy can be quite an allure–blindingly so…but eventually…

    I really enjoyed this foreboding omen and all.

  8. An interesting poetry from the prompt. Like the narrative and journey of the poem – how it began and I love the eerie feeling about the omen here. I didn’t read anyone’s work on the theme before I could write myself so that I don’t get influenced, smiles.

Leave a Reply

